Lasagna

Last week I spent several days with my family in the Madison-Bouckville area attending a large, outdoor antique show. My family’s gone to this show every summer for almost as long as I can remember. My grandfather brings up his camper and we all (some combination of my parents, brother, grandfather, aunt, husband and myself) stay at a nearby campground for several days. This year Greg wasn’t able to come, so I ended up sharing a tent with my brother like we used to when we were kids.

Since Greg was going to be home alone for a few days I knew I could either leave him to fend for himself for dinner, which means either fried eggs or frozen dinners every night, or make him something ahead of time that he could quickly, and easily reheat in the microwave. I opted for lasagna.

IMG_2110[1]

In the past I’ve made this lasagna using store-bought dried pasta and sauce, but this time I decided to go all out and use homemade pasta and sauce, because that’s just how I roll. It actually wasn’t as complicated as it might sound though since I already had homemade sauce in the freezer. Any time I make sauce, I always double the recipe so I can have extra on hand in the freezer whenever I might need it.

I’d made pasta plenty of times before, but I’d never used homemade pasta in a baked dish and so wasn’t sure if I’d need to boil it before baking like you have to with dried pasta. Knowing that they sell “no-boil” lasagna sheets in the grocery store, I decided to assemble the lasagna with my raw pasta and hope for the best. It worked out perfectly!

Lasagna

From: Ruth Phinney
Serves 10-15

1 lb. lasagna noodles
1 lb. ground beef or ground turkey
1 lb. Italian Sausage
Oregano
Basil
1, 45 oz. jar marinara sauce
1, 32 oz. container ricotta cheese
2 eggs
Parsley
1 tsp nutmeg
1 c. grated parmesan cheese
3 c. grated mozzarella

  1. Cook lasagna noodles in a large pot of salted water with a small splash of canola oil to keep the noodles from sticking. Cook half of the box at a time for 6 minutes then immediately remove noodles to an ice water bath to stop cooking. Drain noodles and lay flat while preparing other ingredients.
  2. Brown ground beef and sausage. Once the meat is cooked, drain the fat. Season with oregano, basil, salt and pepper. Add marinara sauce and simmer for 20 minutes.
  3. To make the cheese filling, mix ricotta with eggs, parsley, nutmeg and parmesan.
  4. Preheat oven to 375.
  5. Put a small amount of sauce in a 9×13 baking dish and spread to coat the bottom. Layer one row of lasagna noodles in the bottom of the dish.
  6. Top with ¼ of the meat mixture, then ¼ of the ricotta mixture, then sprinkle with grated mozzarella and parmesan. Repeat the layers until all the filling and noodles have been used. Be sure to end with a layer of noodles and reserve enough sauce to cover this final layer of noodles. Top with more of the cheeses.
  7. Bake for 40-45 minutes.
Leave a Reply

